Meet Your Council



Whitby Town Council

Town Council is the governing body for the Town of Whitby with nine members elected by the residents of Whitby for a four-year term of office through the municipal election process. The Mayor and four Regional Councillors are elected at large. The four remaining Councillors are elected by the four Wards: North (1), West (2), Centre (3), and East (4).

Council conducts its business using the Standing Committee System. The Standing Committees offer policy and operational recommendations to Council on an ongoing basis. Decisions of Council require support from a majority of the members present at a meeting. In certain cases, the consent of two-thirds (2/3) of all members of Council is required. Council must have at least five (5) members present to conduct its business.

Council 2018